Prioritizing, Reinvigoration and Inspiration

Posted on June 15, 2013

0


Time flies when you’re having fun . . . or should I just say time flies!  Over the last number of months, I’ve been on a major hiatus from the online world, just checking in now and then – more of a lurker than active participant.  This hiatus was a result of having a close look at everything going on and prioritizing.  One of the things that I decided to really focus on was my health and started on a journey of becoming stronger, fitter and healthier (thank so much #ASHAFit13 for the inspiration and to my personal trainers at Evolve Fitness in Halifax for helping me stick to the plan :)).  This journey required me to sleep (imagine that – a rather novel concept for the workaholic that I am) and strive for a little more balance in my life.  It’s still a work in progress, but I’m trying my best!

Don’t get me wrong, I’ve still been immersed in the world of apps and technology and as a part of my day job I’ve been presenting, talking and sharing all of the wonderful things that are apps and iPad.  Sometimes I forget how much I really love this . . . but people just need to mention the word iPad and my whole demeanor lights up!  From comments I receive following my presentations, I definitely realize that spreading the word about the iPad and it’s usefulness as an educational tool is certainly a great passion of mine.

A few days ago, I got emails from two wonderful S-LPs, Tanya Coyle (@SLPTanya) and Mai Ling Chan (@MaiLingChan) asking me to contribute app reviews to a wonderful project that they have created/started www.yappguru.com.  Click here to get an idea of what the site is about. The site is currently in the form of public beta testing and I’m excited to be a Savvy Guru beta tester for the site.  I’ve been anxiously awaiting it’s launch and extremely excited to have the opportunity to contribute to it and join the other most excellent Savvy Gurus (like Sean Sweeney (@speechtechie), Jessica Chase (@consonantlyspeaking), Mary Huston (@SLPMary), Jeremy Legaspi (@azspeechguy), Kim Lewis (@activitytailor), Aubrey Klingensmith (@stklingensmith) and others whose work I admire.  It will no doubt be a wonderful resource for therapists and educators looking for information about apps. So there’s my inspiration for reinvigorating my online participation! 🙂

savvy_badge_final_white (2)I’m excited to continue to share my thoughts about the different apps that I’ve been using in my practice with students and the fun I have with apps with my own kids at home.

The school year is winding down which means I’ll have a little more time on my hands (can’t say it’ll be ALOT since I hope to take full advantage of enjoying everything the summer has to offer) . . . but I will be around and hope to share with you some of the work I’ve been doing with my iPad and apps!

Renena